Lagertha, Trial by Fire

LagerthaLogo copy

Here I’m going to post my adventures of creating Lagertha! The good, the bad, the weird, it’s all here. So sit back and enjoy the ride!

Lagertha

Preliminary steps.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 20, 2017

Let me preface this by saying I was starting a new face. This was just me taking the basic steps, fleshing out how I thought it would go. Boy, was I ever wrong, as I am with most face presets based on real people. The character Lagertha is played by an awesome actress named Katheryn Winnick. When I sat down to start working on this file I noticed Skyrim doesn’t like wide faces. All hairs, all basic meshes, everything is set for thinner faces (this will get expanded upon when I write out my Natalie Dormer one xD). So basically I just widened the face as much as I could, tried to get her coloration down, and then called it a day. I also went on the hunt for a more mature skin that didn’t make my character look 50 when she was 30+, but I didn’t want her to look 15 when she’s 30+. The game was on.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

LineSeperator

Sculpting her out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From my Sigyn page:

I’ve fiddled around with the face more. Here is the preset at 90%. I think I just need to widen the face and maybe shorten the chin (and try for the millionth time to lower those eyebrows and keep a neutral expression on her face) and she’ll be done! This is only the coloration and skintone I’ll use for the Lagertha/Katheryn Winnick preset[.] I ended up using Navetsea’s skin textures instead of Real Girls. They’re not ultra-amazingly-wonderfuly 4K HD textures, but I want some that are realistic, with some wrinkling, and a complete set. Real Girls is great, but it’s not very finished and the lip texture is very dark. SG is good but too young for this character. Mature Skin Texture looks horrible on her (you don’t want to see it), so I won’t even go there (but check it out anyway, you can create a wonderfully attractive older woman). To blend the seams on the neck, wrist, and ankles better I used a texture blender…

Here was when I really started to adjust everything about the face. I saved multiple copies, and sometimes when back and redid a previous copy. I scoured the Internet for images of her. Let me tell you what, it’s hard to find front facing photos of people! Her face seems really long here, and too narrow at the jaw. Don’t get me started on those evil eyebrows.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

LineSeperator

 CITRUS Heads mesh edits.

Lagertha Comparison copy
Comparison March 25, 2017

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I thought this one was fairly done and I had started uploading it on Nexus. Then I went to fine-tune some things and the GOD DAMNED HEAD MESH KEPT BREAKING. I sort of got the effect I wanted, but every time I went to fix something, something else would break. It’s pretty decent here, a good attempt, but with the problems it wasn’t worth fixing in the end.

Got so fed up I reworked her head from scratch on a different mesh.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

LineSeperator

Vanilla Headmesh, Officially v1.0.

Lagertha Comparison

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally satisfied, as much as any artist can be. The mesh is blocky in places, but that’s better than wrestling with CITRUS Heads. In this version, I shrunk her forehead a bit (and I know people are going to complain) and was able to sculpt out cheeks and a jawline without making her face look too wide. I also changed the skin! I found a really awesome skin that had almost everything I was looking for, except for two minor changes it’s a great skin. Now I feel Lagertha can be proud of her representation.

You can find Lagertha on her Nexus page.

There are two versions, one for the Breton race and one for the Nord race.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

Signature copy

Let me know what you think!

