Forging Sigyn’s Face

SigynLogo copyv2

Here is some information and screens on my Sigyn face overhaul. I’ll post some images and the mods I’ve used (or think I used). This will show when I made her originally in 2013ish and also the progress from there. I have had to remake her as I lost the original files and have downloaded newer, more improved mods. I had based her on a completely original idea in the beginning but now am using Katheryn Winnick as a model. I am inspired by her work on the TV show Vikings. I know she’d be more suited as a Nord, as she’s a Viking in the show, but her badassery works for my firey Breton.

Update: The Lagertha preset is finished and I’ve customized it to my Sigyn character! The image above is the new Sigyn.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sigyn circa 2012-2013

This was a long time ago and I know I don’t remember all the mods used, so forgive me if I leave any out or get them wrong.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Hair:

Technical Mods:

  • RaceMenu (in 2013 only, as that’s when RM was first published)

This was my original concept for Sigyn. I believe she had an original face made up of different traits I found beautiful in women at the time (as tastes do change). I still love this face, but I feel it’s too “young” for the type of woman I want Sigyn to be. Maybe this is Sigyn in her very early years, from before Skyrim. ^_^

I have a scar on her face, as you can clearly see. I don’t have it in the newer versions, but I do want to add it back. I just want to settle on a face for her, first.

There is little difference between the two versions, except the hair and some minor facial edits. From what I can see her nose got thinner, her chin wider, and possibly her eyes were tilted down more on the outside edges. The textures between the body and face didn’t match well, but back then it was hard to get a good match. I didn’t know how to blend out textures, yet. Her makeup isn’t pixelated (which was a major issue before SKSE had a way of fixing that concerning HD skins), but I believe this was before the SKSE fix and Coverwomen is a lower-resolution skin texture. The shiny lines on her skin come from diffuse maps that are not color corrected correctly for old ENBs. This is also fixed in later versions of ENB .dlls. There is an ENB in these shots, but for the life of me I can’t figure out what one.

LineSeperator

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2016

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Hair:

August 2016

October 2016

Technical Mods:

  • SKSE (for higher resolution tint mask ability)
  • RaceMenu
  • No More Ugly Bronze Shine (taken down) (no longer needed with newer ENB .dlls)
  • Imaginator

This is actually a whole new face I had made for Sigyn. I had lost her game files a long time before this and when I sat down to replay Skyrim I simply took a face preset mod and heavily modified it to get an effect I wanted. It wasn’t really based on my original Sigyn face, but I did base her on the character.

There are no ENBs in these shots. I used Imaginator to enhance the coloration and do some small effects.

October was a good month for finding cool mods, especially YMMP. That mod has makeup tint masks you can add to the player that allows for some real customization. Sigyn has colored eyeliner in green right above the black smudge, but it’s hard to see.

LineSeperator

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

February 2017

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

This is when I really wanted to give Sigyn her old face. The Feb. 2 shot was me trying to sculpt the face from 2016 but that didn’t work. I think I had already sculpted it too much. I learned here to make many versions of the same face so if you ruin it you can go back to a previous version. I also learned if you hit “clear sculpt” in the sculpt section of RaceMenu it’ll revert all changes back to the original head mesh + all “inflates” you’ve made. 😡

Feb. 12 shot was after I completely redid her face from scratch. I was really proud of the result, but after looking at it for a few days I noticed it was rather…one dimensional. Part of that was from me being unhappy with the ENB, the other part was the skin coloration. I think I made her too pale, although I do want her to be pale. The colors on her skin, which were supposed to be natural flushing (except for the eyeliner colors), didn’t blend in well. I also wanted her jaw wider.

Feb. 16 I widened her jaw, darkened her skin (with a rose undertone still), made the coloration on her cheeks more peach, darkened her eyes, red-toned her freckles more (from an almost completely dark brown tone), changed her lips completely as well as made them fuller and wider, widened her chin (also made it a bit too long D:), sculpted more around her mouth to get a deeper laugh line effect, sculpted the sides of her face to make them less sunken and more full, narrowed her nose, and then shortened her face. Phew, a lot of work! It paid off though, she looked very similar to the original.

The only downside to my edits on the 16th was that the mesh around her mouth got messed up. There was a gap at the corners I couldn’t seem to get rid of. I learned here that there are mesh issues with the eyes and lips not being rendered exactly the same on both sides from the mod itself, but my own editing ruined the corners. I have since figured out how to fix that.

Note: The eyeshadow wasn’t supposed to be changed. That was the ENB rendering it differently.

Feb. 27 I had changed ENBs by this time and had tried to fix the mesh issues. I found I couldn’t fix the ones from the CITRUSHeads mod itself and that when I attempted to fix the parts I borked, it wasn’t going as planned. My major edits were to shorten and narrow her chin, widen her lips even more, and change the lip texture to Pretty Lips. I did mess around with some colors and makeup as well, especially because I was taking “glamor shots” and was showing off outfit and accessory mods.

I learned here that I can use mods like YMMP to enhance features, not just for makeup. I am using an eyeliner overlay to make the black smudge on her upper lid darker, but I am also using white shadow around the inside corners and along the first part of the bottom of her eyelid to define and highlight the area so it’s not all flat. I also learned if I was going to focus on characters and getting good skin coloration in Skyrim I had to be more selective of the ENBs I use. A lot of the “high end” ones have a red tone to them. It ruins skin coloration and causes a lot of colors to be too bright, which seems to also affect surrounding paler colors.

LineSeperator

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 20, 2017

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

I actually started this complete makeover a few days before, but here is Sigyn based on Katheryn Winnick. I’m considering this about 70% done as I need to redo her nose, change her skin tone, and possibly find another skin texture. I’m finding that since I want Sigyn slightly older (in her mid-30s), that SG is almost too “soft.” I can add in wrinkles manually if I’m careful, but it’s hard to really get them defined since the color system only affects certain areas. I’m thinking of using Real Girls Realistic Body Texture because there are more painted on lines around the eyes and mouth (painted on the skin texture by the author). I will post pictures of how this goes.

This face edit was made on a completely new face. I do still have Sigyn’s old face preset saved, but I started fresh for the Winnick inspired one. I did save a version before I started doing a lot of heavy editing to the cheeks and laugh lines (which you can’t really see a difference in this light so don’t worry about that) so when I change the skin texture I can see what one looks better.

I have broken up these images into three parts: The first one is how I’m probably going to be using the face in my game – with the red hair, misty green/blue light eyes, and freckles. This has been Sigyn’s coloration from the beginning. When I’m happy with her face I’ll add back the scar. The second is going to be based more on Winnick’s actual coloration and will probably be the version I’ll release to the public – so she’ll have pale blond hair, more yellow undertoned skin, and blue eyes. She also won’t have freckles in this version. With face presets all the options can be changed so the user can edit them to their liking anyway.

The third image is to show how much ENBs play a part in how a character looks. The first two shots are in default vanilla lighting (toned down because of my ENB settings) in full sunlight. The third image is with the ENB on in the same conditions. You can clearly see how it affects her skin, makeup, hair, and eye coloration. When making face presets it’s good to make them so they look “right” in vanilla Skyrim lighting; users can adjust for their ENB (especially because people customize ENBs).

I’ll post any updates as they come!

LineSeperator

Update #1:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 22, 2017

I’ve fiddled around with the face more. Here is the preset at 90%. I think I just need to widen the face and maybe shorten the chin (and try for the millionth time to lower those eyebrows and keep a neutral expression on her face) and she’ll be done! This is only the coloration and skintone I’ll use for the Lagertha/Katheryn Winnick preset, not Sigyn’s custom colors and hair. I ended up using Navetsea’s skin textures instead of Real Girls. They’re not ultra-amazingly-wonderfuly 4K HD textures, but I want some that are realistic, with some wrinkling, and a complete set. Real Girls is great, but it’s not very finished and the lip texture is very dark. SG is good but too young for this character. Mature Skin Texture looks horrible on her (you don’t want to see it), so I won’t even go there. To blend the seams on the neck, wrist, and ankles better I used a texture blender. All links are above.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

LineSeperator

Update #2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 25, 2017

Done! I finished the Lagertha preset and customized it to my Sigyn character. I’m waiting on some permissions to upload the Lagertha file to Nexus, but here is some more information on the  Lagertha face preset. These have No ENB as I’m trying to show them off in vanilla lighting. But something just seems…off…you know?

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

LineSeperator

Update #3

Sigyn v4 – Hopefully final in terms of facial structure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I DID IT AGAIN. Mostly because I changed Lagertha’s headmesh from CITRUS Heads to the normal one from Skyrim (updates are here). That mesh was causing so many problems! I love it, but it’s been abandoned I think and I just can’t fight with the fixes anymore. So here is the new Sigyn! I’ve adjusted her colors, as well. Found more fitting eye color (FemaleEyesHumanBlueSky – a light gray-blue with a beautiful burst of yellow and orange, like looking at the sky and seeing a blackhole sun. ^^ Love that song, too…) and tweaked the hair (juuuust slightly to make it lighter) and lips (less lip color, going for a more natural “stain effect”). She still has the scar! This is the face I envision for a 30+ something WitchHunter roaming the world under the guise of being a Bard. I’m working on her biography, next.

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

LineSeperator

Update #4 BECAUSE I MADE A MESS-UP

Sigyn v5 – So I borked the last file due to merging some Racemenu Mods. 😡 I had to fix it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

She is still based on my Lagertha head, but I made some minor tweaks: new eyebrows, changed the makeup from green to gray-teal, pinkened her skin more, and changed her hair to how it was almost originally in 2013 (although less intense).

Yes, she’s naked. I merged a lot and her apparel got taken away from another merge and I wanted to get her face done before I added clothes. I covered up her bits. Although these shots show why I like Pride of Valhalla skin! She has stretch marks around her chest, moles, pores, and random freckles on her body, and good muscle tone for someone who adventures. I’m very happy with her. 😀

Face, Body, Skin, Eyes, Lips, Hair:

Technical Mods:

ENBs:

Signature copy

3 thoughts on “Forging Sigyn’s Face

Let me know what you think!

